Introduction to the Faculty of Basic Sciences


The Faculty of Basic Sciences, with an area of ​​7000 square meters in 3.5 floors, is one of the four faculties approved by the Islamic Azad University, East Tehran Branch. The educational and research activities of the faculty are offered for undergraduate (8 majors), master's (6 majors) and two doctoral programs. Active study programs currently include the following:

Department of Biology:

Master of Genetics, Master of Microbiology - Biology of Pathogenic Microbes, Master of Microbial Biotechnology, Bachelor of Microbiology, Bachelor of Cellular and Molecular Biology.

Department of Chemistry:

Bachelor of Pure Chemistry, Bachelor of Applied Chemistry, Bachelor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Master of Organic Chemistry, Master of Polymer Chemistry, PhD in Inorganic Chemistry, PhD in Organic Chemistry.

Department of Basic Sciences:

Bachelor of Optical & Laser Engineering, Bachelor of Nuclear Engineering, Computer Science. The department covers all courses of mathematics, physics and associated laboratories in all departments and colleges in East Tehran branch of IAU.

At present, the number of faculty members in the Faculty of Basic Sciences is 44, who, along with 50 visiting professors, conduct the educational and research affairs of the students in each semester in coordination with the heads of the departments. The number of active students of the faculty in all levels until the end of the second semester of the academic year 2020-2021 (1399-1400 in Persian calendar) is equal to 1709 persons.

Previous Deans of the Faculty

Dr. Mahnaz Farahmand (PhD in Biology-Microbiology): 2007-2009.

Dr. Akram Sadat Tabatabaee (PhD in Cellular and Molecular Biology): 2009-2011.

Dr. Reza Ghiasi (PhD in Inorganic Chemistry): 2011-2012.

Dr. Meysam Mohammadnia (PhD in Nuclear Engineering-Nuclear Energy): 2012-2018.

Dr. Hassan Ashurifar (PhD in Physics): 2018-2019.

Dr. Alireza Akbari (PhD in Physics): 2019- Present.

Previous Deputies for Academic and Student Affairs

Dr Maryam Reshadi (PhD in Applied Mathematics): 2009-2011.

Dr Meysam Mohammadnia (PhD in Nuclear Engineering-Nuclear Energy): 2011-2012.

Dr Hassan Ashurifar (PhD in Physics): 2011-2018.

Dr Alireza Akbari (PhD in Physics): 2018-2019.

Dr Saeid Gholami (PhD in Mathematics): 2019- Present.